Global Wildlife Conservation::  Tortoise & Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group::  Turtle Survival Alliance::  Turtle Conservancy  ::  Chelonian Research Foundation::  European Assoc. Zoos & Aquaria

About the Turtle Conservation Fund

The Turtle Conservation Fund (TCF) was established in 2002 as a partnership initiative of Conservation International, IUCN Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group (TFTSG), and Turtle Survival Alliance (TSA). In 2007 it was joined by the Shellshock Campaign of the European Association of Zoos and Aquaria, and in 2009 expanded to become a broader-based partnership coalition of several leading turtle conservation organizations and individuals. Global Wildlife Conservation (GWC), Chelonian Research Foundation (CRF), and Turtle Conservancy (TC) currently serve as financial umbrella organizations for the TCF.

The TCF issued a detailed Summary Activity Report in 2019 summarizing its grant-making activity from 2002 through 2018, during which time over US$ 1 million in grant support was distributed to over 250 projects focused on endangered and threatened turtles and tortoises. This report can be downloaded HERE.

The TCF partnership coalition at this time (March 2021) includes the following organizations:

Global Wildlife Conservation • Turtle Conservancy • Chelonian Research Foundation •  IUCN Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group • Turtle Survival Alliance • Humane Society International – Australia • The Panaphil and Uphill Foundations • Surprise Spring Foundation • Turtle Sanctuary Conservation Center

Previous coalition partners have included the following organizations:

Conservation International • Wildlife Conservation Society • Chelonian Research Institute • European Association of Zoos and Aquaria / Shellshock Campaign • Andrew Sabin Family Foundation

The TCF administers a turtle conservation and research grants program focused on endangered tortoises and freshwater turtles. Awards are granted to organizations or individuals for specific conservation or research projects dealing with highly endangered  tortoises or freshwater turtles, but not marine turtles, with either partial or full support as funding allows. Please visit the TCF Grants page for details regarding application instructions and a listing of funded projects.

Several TCF Alliance Partners have also contributed to global turtle conservation efforts, either directly through TCF with various levels of support, or through their own independent conservation programs for turtles developed or supported in some measure in partial collaboration or consulation with TCF’s prioritizing and funding mechanisms. The efforts of TCF have benefitted greatly from the collaborative and cooperative approach of these turtle-focused conservation organizations.

The TCF is managed by its Executive Board, which is composed of the following individuals:

Executive Committee of the TCF Board

Hugh R. Quinn, Co-Chair
     Retired, Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
     Former Chair, AZA Chelonian Advisory Group
Anders G.J. Rhodin, Co-Chair
     Founder and Director, Chelonian Research Foundation
     Executive Vice Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     Chairman of the Board, Turtle Conservancy
Eric V. Goode
     President and CEO, Turtle Conservancy
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Rick Hudson
     President and CEO, Turtle Survival Alliance
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Russell A. Mittermeier
     Chief Conservation Officer, Global Wildlife Conservation
     Past President, Conservation International
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Vivian P. Páez
     Universidad de Antioquia, Medellin, Colombia
     Steering Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Peter Paul van Dijk
     Director, Field Conservation Programs, Turtle Conservancy
     Director, Turtle Program, Global Wildlife Conservation
     Deputy Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group

TCF Review Board Members

Gary Ades
     Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden, Hong Kong
Chris B. Banks
     Melbourne Zoo, Australia
Kurt A. Buhlmann
     University of Georgia; Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
Carla C. Eisemberg
    Charles Darwin University, Darwin, Australia
Camila Ferrara
     Wildlife Conservation Society, Manaus, Brazil

Matt Frankel
     Surprise Spring Foundation, Prescott, Arizona
Natalia Gallego-García
     University of California, Los Angeles, California;
     Wildlife Conservation Society, Cali, Colombia
Paul M. Gibbons
     TurtleConservancy, Ojai, California
Cris Hagen
     TurtleSurvival Center, Cross, South Carolina
Brian D. Horne
     Wildlife Conservation Society, San Diego, California
     Executive Committee, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
John B. Iverson
     Earlham College, Richmond, Indiana
Gerald Kuchling
     Chelonia Enterprises, Australia
     Executive CommitteeIUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
Richard E. Lewis
     Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, Madagascar
Luca M. Luiselli
     Institute for Development, Ecology, Conservation and Cooperation, Rome, Italy
     Turtle Sanctuary Conservation Center, Paris, France

George A. Meyer
     Conservationist, Seattle, Washington
Kalyar Platt
     Turtle Survival Alliance, Yangon, Myanmar
Martina Raffel
     Stiftung Artenschutz, Münster, Germany
Shi Haitao
     Hainan Normal University, China
Craig B. Stanford
     Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California

Andrew Walde
     Chief Operating Officer, Turtle Survival Alliance
     Executive CommitteeIUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     Walde Research & Environmental Consulting, Atascadero, California

Former TCF Board Members
(† = deceased)

James E. Barzyk
     Program Manager, Turtle Survival Alliance
John L. Behler †

     Co-Chair, IUCN SSC Tortoise and Freshwater Turtle Specialist Group
     Bronx Zoo, Wildlife Conservation Society, New York
Kevin R. Buley
     Director, EAZA Shellshock Campaign; Chester Zoo, United Kingdom
Antoine Cadi
     Conservationist, France
Bernard Devaux
     SOPTOM, Gonfaron, France
Douglas B. Hendrie
     Asian Turtle Conservation Network, Vietnam

Susan Lieberman
     Conservationist, Washington, DC
Hans-Dieter Philippen †
     Turtle Survival Alliance / TSA Europe, Germany
Colin Poole

     Director, Asia Program, Wildlife Conservation Society, Singapore
Peter C.H. Pritchard
     President, Chelonian Research Institute, Oviedo, Florida
Maurice Rodrigues
     Turtle Conservancy; Andrew Sabin Family Foundation
Walter C. Sedgwick
     Turtle Survival Alliance; Island Foundation; GG Wade Trust
Henk Zwartepoorte †
     Rotterdam Zoo, Netherlands; Turtle Survival Alliance / TSA Europe